Two years ago today I brought Lucille home, and my life has never been the same.  Lucille’s joie de vivre combined with her complete doggie devotion to me has been incredibly healing.

When I first met Lucille the breeder had given her the name of Baby, but I thought this puppy deserved a more sophisticated moniker, and changed her name to Lucille, after B.B King’s guitar Lucille.

She has her flaws: her need to bark at sounds real and imagined, always at the ungodly hour of 3 a.m., her need to throw her toys at me, frustrated with my unwillingness to play even though we just came back from spending all day at the beach, and did I mention her barking?

Loving Lucille despite her flaws has helped me to become hopeful that someone can love me flaws and all, and more importantly, that I can come to love and forgive my own deeply flawed self.

