Mourning

I’m mourning the loss of my family.
I’m mourning the loss of my dream
of sharing a holiday meal with
all my relations.
I’m mourning the loss of my
innocence.
I’m mourning the loss of my
knee cartilage.
I’m mourning the loss of running
one more marathon.
I’m mourning the loss
of  ever seeing my name
on a marquee.

I’m mourning the loss of

my rose coloured glasses.
I’m mourning the loss
of all my addictions.
I’m mourning the loss
of all my hiding places.
All that is left
here for me
is to trust
in the voice in
my head

that whispers

katharine

Relax into the void.
Trust in your life.

I’m not exactly certain
how to trust in life.
Trusting traditionally
has not been my forte.
The one thing I know

I can do

that feels right,

right now
is to place my right hand
gently over my heart
holding it steady.
Perhaps for today
that is enough.

 

K.A.L

